Outlook Add-in Settings

Clicking on the ‘Add-In Settings’ button on the Mailock ribbon gives you options to customise how the add-in works for you:

Looking at each option in more detail:

  1. Open secure mail mode

    Gives you 2 ways to open your secure messages:

    1. On open only: each secure message needs to be double clicked to open

    2. On select and open: single or double click a secure message to open it

    You’ll need to restart Outlook to pick up a change to this option.

  1. Check for updates on startup

    Mailock will check for updates when you start Outlook. If you don’t want this to happen, untick this box.

    Checking for updates may be disabled in some setups, in which case changing this option will have no effect. You can tell this is the case if you don’t have a ‘Check For Updates’ option on the Mailock ribbon.

Further details The remainder of the options only apply if your email provider uses Exchange. If you’re not sure, you can find out how to check here.

  1. Prompt me to send securely if my email contains sensitive keywords

    Mailock scans the title and body of your outgoing unsecure (i.e. not encrypted) messages for keywords which suggest the email should be secured and, if it finds any, asks if you would like to send it securely. If you don’t need Mailock to do this check, untick this box.

    If you need to make any changes to the list of keywords, speak to your Mailock administrator.

  2. Replace opened secure messages with decrypted versions

    When you open a secure message the encrypted copy is replaced by a decrypted (unsecured). If you would prefer to keep your messages encrypted, untick this box.

    Decrypting a message makes it the same as your other email, meaining it can be searched, but does mean the content is available to others sharing the mailbox.

  3. Save decrypted version in sent items when sending secure messages

    When you send a secure message a decrypted copy is saved in your ‘Sent Items’. If you would prefer to keep your messages encrypted, untick this box.

    As with the previous option, decrypting a message makes it the same as your other email, meaning it can be searched, but does mean the content is available to others sharing the mailbox.

  4. Open decrypted version of secure message after send

    If the above option is ticked then a decrypted version of your message is shown after it is sent. If you don’t need to see it, untick this box.

  5. Preserve server side added signatures in decrypted content

    If you have server software which adds email signatures to your sent messages Mailock will add the signature to decrypted messages. If you don’t want this to happen, untick this box.